Are you:

  • wild about nature, the countryside and conservation
  • aged between 11 and 18
  • interested in gaining the SCRA Junior Ranger Award?

Do you want to:

  • take part in outdoor learning
  • find out about the work of Countryside Rangers
  • develop new skills and experience
  • spend time with others who share your interests?

If the answer is yes, then you’ve come to the right place!
Our Junior Ranger programme is the first step in professional development with the Scottish Countryside Rangers Association.

Junior Ranger Award

The Junior Ranger Award recognises your commitment to the Ranger Service and to achieving competencies in a range of tasks. You can still take part in a Junior Ranger Group without taking part in the Award.

Those who achieve the award take ownership of their group and activities. They mentor newer members, and develop transferable skills and knowledge for future employment in environmental conservation.

Commitment

Junior Ranger Groups usually meet once a month throughout the year to participate in different outdoor activities.

It takes up to 12 months to gain the first level of the award, for those wanting to take part. Some groups offer a second level which focuses on leadership.

Competencies

Junior Ranger activities are closely linked to those undertaken by Rangers. These are called competencies. For the SCRA Junior Ranger Award they are:

  • Know your site
  • Care for your site
  • Care for visitors
  • Events and interpretation
  • Working with others
  • Leadership (level 2 – for those over 14 years old once completing level 1)

Portfolio and assessment

Participants keep evidence of their involvement. The evidence they collect goes towards an assessment.

The Award is made on the satisfactory completion of 5 competencies.

Become a Junior Ranger

Contact a Junior Ranger Group near you for details of how to get involved:

Bin Ranger Club

Angie Smith – 01466794161, angie.smith@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Cairngorms National Park Junior Rangers

Alan Smith – AlanSmith@cairngorms.co.uk

East Lothian Junior Rangers

Jen Edwards – jedwards@eastlothian.gov.uk
Laura Douglas – ldouglas@eastlothian.gov.uk

Fife Coast and Countryside Trust

in conjunction with Bell Baxter High School Junior Rangers
Bob Weston – bob.weston@fifecountryside.co.uk

Holyrood Park Ranger Service Junior Rangers

Lily Laing – lily.laing@scotland.gsi.gov.uk
Martin Gray – martin.gray@scotland.gsi.gov.uk

Hopetoun House Junior Rangers

Maree Morrison – maree.morrison@hopetoun.co.uk

North Ayrshire Junior Rangers

Eglinton Country Park
Helen McDowall – 01294 551776, helenmcdowall@north-ayrshire.gov.uk

RSPB Phoenix Group

Loch Leven
Judy Paul – Judy.paul@rspb.org

Co-ordinators’ Toolkit

How to set up and run a successful Junior Ranger Group and Award – Co-ordinators’ Toolkit (PDF, 1.22mb)

Events
There are no upcoming events at this time.
Contact us

Text above form