In 1974, fourteen Countryside Rangers completed the first national in-service training course, run by the Countryside Commission for Scotland. As a result of the positive experience, the rangers agreed to set up the Scottish Countryside Rangers Association (SCRA) which continues to be the voice of rangers today.
SCRA is one of the founding members of the International Ranger Federation, founded on the banks of Loch Lomond in 1991.

SCRA Council Members


John Mayhew


George Potts


Tony Wilson


Kate Elliott

Ordinary Members

Bob Reid (Heritage Officer)
Ruth Grant (Scramble Co-ordinator/Editor)
Tim Messer (Web and Social Media)
Michael Holcombe
Alex Krause
Ruth Grant
Derek Shannan
Alison Abercrombie (CPD)
Michelle Melville
Glyn Jones